top of page

Crystal Cavern

(fantasy)

How I had gotten to be here, I could not clearly remember. My last recollection before my memories became distant and lost was that of the H.M.S. Emerald, an exploration ship that I had been a boatswain aboard, as it climbed away into the turbulent clouds above me. I remember being thrown overboard by a wave that had breached the deck, and given the hazardous conditions of the sea as I landed backwards into the hungry ocean, I could only assume that rescue was not likely to be possible. Therefore, following my landing, I watched as the ship and the crew on deck continued their journey onwards without me.

The sea was treacherous and unforgiving, and as I pitifully struggled to remain afloat, an unapologetic wave crashed down upon me and forced me down into its dark depths. The world around me turned black and began to disappear altogether. Always knowing in my mind that I was bound to die at sea I surrendered to the force that I had taken for granted for so many years, allowing myself to drift further down as the surface above me raged onwards. I was gone, but then, I believed I had felt an arm grab my leg from within the blackness and I believed it was over, lady death had introduced herself.

That was my final memory before I passed.

I awoke sometime late, I did not know how long it had been, and there was no way I could decipher the hour from what I saw around me. What I did see confirmed that I was nowhere of our known world so I believed that I had passed. Yet I felt real, I felt as I had done upon the Emerald, I felt as though I was still human.

I appeared to have passed on into a large underground cavern that had no see able entrance points amongst its distant walls. Despite this, the room was sufficiently bathed in numerous shades of blue light that radiated and shone softly off the many crystals and gemstones that could be seen decorating the cavernous space.

The magical stones were many, and often appeared angelic as the light danced upon them before switching partners to the next. The light took on a presence and the crystals was its conductor, transforming everything a hue of blues that blended with itself as in the same way a ballet may be performed on silk.

I took my eyes off of the walls reluctantly and noticed a circular pool close by. I approached with tender eagerness and peered over the edge into its hollow depths. At first there was nothing to be seen, but suddenly, as I continued to focus my vision, I saw a face looking back up at my own. It was not the reflection of my face, of that I was certain, because looking back up at me was the face of a beautiful young woman. I had never laid my eyes upon such obvious beauty in the many years I had been travelling the earth. Her eyes matched the blue of the crystals around me, and her long black hair drifted out in all directions of the pool as she floated calmly just below its smooth surface.

I was mesmerised. Holding my hand out above the water, I could feel the insides of my chest twitch in response as the black haired woman mirrored the movement with her own hand. Her eyes followed the path of my fingers before she returned her eyes towards mine, smiling pleasantly as she did so. My hand lowered and touched the surface of the water, the woman copied the motion exactly, providing the surface with a solid feel. Her hand was soft yet cold, and was much smaller than my own. I stared transfixed into her eyes and began to feel my body tilt forward slowly, my head lowered towards the pool as hers swam ever slowly upwards in unison.

My eyes closed as the moment our lips would touch drew nearer. The entire world sunk away and nothing mattered but the woman in front of me. As our lips touched, all the fears and pain vanished forever and I felt at peace. The light consumed me and I was gone.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Connect...
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
bottom of page