top of page

Teacup Traditions

(Character exercise)

I get home after a long walk into the busy city centre and open the door to find the interior smelling of damp musk. I close the door behind me and go to check the phone for any voicemail messages, again there was none.

Clicking the kettle on i stand and watch as it comes to boil, before pouring the water into a mug containing a teabag. A cup of tea always reminded me of a Hindu tradition my family once taught me. The story goes that if a person is given a cup of tea that has been brewing for a long time by their parents when they meet the persons proposed partner, then they approve, if the brew is short, then they do not.

I tried it with my daughter, but she left with the Irish man, and Elina blamed me for the loss of her only child.

I carried my tea to the couch and sat down to begin the nights TV.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Connect...
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
bottom of page