top of page

Dhalia take on...Todd Collier Film

Not so long ago I wrote a blog on one of the greatest actors alive, Mr Josh Hartnett, and had so much joy in doing so that I decided I would write another one on somebody else.

Obviously I’m aware that if you are currently reading this sentence then you have already seen the title of this blog and know who I am talking about, but for those who don’t know who I’ve decided to follow Josh Hartnett with because they clicked here accidentally and somehow scrolled down past the title in the process, then I shall tell you. I wanted to make my second blog about someone I view as highly as Josh Hartnett as I foresee many future blogs being rather negative as the misanthropist in me gets angry when I’m happy...but on the bright side he doesn’t last long and usually falls straight to sleep once he’s done. Anyway, this blog is about independent film guy Mr Todd Collier of Todd Collier Film plc.

If anyone would like to check out Todd’s website before reading what I have to say about it then here is the link http://www.toddcollierfilm.com/

“But what are you going to write about exactly?” I hear you saying to your computer screens thinking that I can’t hear you, because I can, I can hear everything you are saying, and no I’m not a prick. Well since Todd’s blog is titled Progression into the industry, I shall talk about Todd’s progression into the industry thus far since leaving university early last year.

Dhalia takes on...Todd Collier Film: Birth of a revolution

I know that wasn’t the title I said in the previous sentence but I changed it at the last minute and don’t want to start editing my blogs now. I met Todd many years ago in a quiet country homestead just off Micklenerry Lane near the estuary, I remember because the lilies were so beautiful that time of year, I believe it may have been the first words I muttered to the young lad “They’re nice lilies this time of year aren’t they?” I said. He smiled. We had bonded momentarily, but the encounters would be few and far between for some years until a twist of fate landed Todd right at my doorstep, literally. The estate agents had made a dire mistake and Todd found himself living in my house at 32 Madagascar Road instead of where he was expecting to live at 14 Jobsworth Park.

I immediately found the similarities between Todd and a beloved animation character named Charlie Chalk, a living icon himself in his own right, and only then did I realise that this lad was onto great things, he may not have seen it in himself at this point but I did. Once I decided that I would go and tell him that I saw great things in him but the conversation didn’t turn out as planned as I found out that great people spend a lot of time being great and have little time to spare being complimented for being great. The transcript goes as follows;

I WALK INTO THE HALLWAY TOWARDS TODD’S ROOM

ME – “Hey Charlie Chalk ya focken!”

I OPEN TODD’S BEDROOM DOOR

TODD – “What do you want?”

ME – “Did you know you look like Charlie Chalk?”

TODD – “Who the fuck is Charlie Chalk?”

I WALK OUT OF TODD’S BEDROOM

I make excuses that it’s his age, but not getting that very clear message I was trying to say will always be one of his downfalls, clearly readers will read that transcript above and go “Well yeah it was obvious what Dhalia meant, he thinks Charlie Chalk is great and telling Todd that he resembles Charlie Chalk is Dhalia’s way of telling him that he thinks he’s ggrreeeeaat...like Frosties” He has since informed me that he doesn’t believe me as he looks nothing like Charlie Chalk, which he doesn’t, but he doesn’t look like anyone I think is great either so I don’t think that’s a valid argument.

I should probably mention Todd does film and animation, as well as all the other parts that go with it like sound and editing. I first worked with him on the classic noir film “Murder For Sale” which appeared on many short film award longlists who’s place was voted by the public. Moving onto animation after successfully achieving fame in the noir genre of film, he created a paper cut out animation of a beloved British teenage angst metaphor, Dee as he experiences the experiences of his life. I found this animation to be highly amusing and relatable, so I decided to ask Todd if he would care to join me on a filming expedition to Brussels to do a 2 day how to guide for people back home, It was an enjoyable time but things went south soon after returning when it was revealed that Todd had cut me out of the documentary and only used the footage of himself and so received the wealth and fame that followed.

Sweet Animosity was forced to abandon its prospects within the film industry as like the story of David and the Goliath, the kid with the flair in his eye was no match for the might of the Collier Empire. Todd however had found success and began a new venture called 32 Madagascar Road which tells the story of Dee, The Mac, Jesus, Myles and Diesel. Its trailer episode achieved positive acclaim, receiving a 89% rotten on aggregator website Rotten Tomato. Todd has moved onto great things, and the upcoming release of his animation series is only going to push the young lad higher.

There we go, that is the story of the rise of Todd Collier Film, and the company’s history in collaborating with Sweet Animosity. Todd also does many regular reviews on what he has been watching which are uploaded onto his website. There are also some gems to be found on his Youtube channel including his university video blogs and his hit breakfast tv series Todd’s Treats.

What does the future have in store for Todd Collier? In my opinion, great things indeed.

Useful links to Todd's work;

Website - www.ToddCollierFilm.com

Murder For Sale - https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=iFq-eGrd6k0

School of Bitches : Silent Night https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=uelrsCzbm1E

Stray https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=wK_TG5bFuTU

Clay animation - https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=shYwxfRj_ts

Paper animation - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q1OpvujR4Ks

32 Madagascar Road Preview - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LqfAURJKo7E&list=UUp2VFOhsvghWq2JJsU3SE2g

Todd's Treats - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YWBLllJRscw&list=UUp2VFOhsvghWq2JJsU3SE2g&index=5

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Connect...
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
bottom of page